Parent Portal

Pastoral Support

Pastoral Support

Year 7

Welcome to Freddies! Transition from one school to another can be daunting for students and parents. We work closely with Primary schools to make this a successful process to ensure students are happy and settle well into their new environment. Year 7 is about building a firm foundation for the years ahead. Take a look round our website to get an understanding of the range of exciting subjects on offer and what you can expect in year 7.

The Year 7 Achievement Leader is Mr A Gray and can be contacted at agray@fgs.derbyshire.sch.uk. The Year 7 Achievement Leader Support Assistant is Miss Brass and can be contacted at kbrass@fgs.derbyshire.sch.uk.

 

Year 8

The curriculum in Year 8 continues to embed the skills and knowledge learnt from year 7 and offers a broad and balanced key stage 3 curriculum. During the course of the year your son/daughter will be supported and guided through the subject options selection process to allow them to move successfully onto their personalised key stage 4 pathway. The year ends with the very memorable year 8 camp, a chance to build and strengthen positive relationships and unity as a year group.

The Year 8 Achievement Leader is Miss Mahmood and can be contacted at smahmood@fgs.derbyshire.sch.uk. The Year 8 Achievement Leader Support Assistant is Mr Philips and can be contacted at MPhilips@fgs.derbyshire.sch.uk.

 

Year 9

In year 9 students will begin to study their chosen options whilst building solid foundations for the start of their GCSE journey. In year 9, students will continue to grow through their GCSE journey and develop the skills and attitudes needed to bolster learning at a higher level.

The Year 9 Achievement Leader is Mr Sutcliffe and can be contacted at csutcliffe@fgs.derbyshire.sch.uk. The Year 9 Achievement Leader Support Assistant is Miss Savage and can be contacted at ksavage@fgs.derbyshire.sch.uk.

 

Year 10

In Year 10, you will embed your knowledge from your previous years of study. You will successfully complete work experience – preparing you for the world beyond school and the summer term mocks give you a taste of the experience of Year 11. Many students will also successfully apply to become prefects and showcase their leadership skills.

The Year 10 Achievement Leader is Miss Rodbourne and can be contacted on CRodbourne@fgs.derbyshire.sch.uk. The Year 10 Achievement Leader Support Assistant is Miss Duffin and can be contacted at cduffin@fgs.derbyshire.sch.uk.

 

Year 11

The Final Year. In Y11 students are encouraged to take greater responsibility for their own learning, to develop more independence, to gain an understanding of the community outside Frederick Gent School and to gain knowledge and awareness of the career options that are available to them following their time here. Minds are already contemplating the next step after GCSEs and students will continue to benefit from careers guidance towards post 16 education.

For all Year 11 this will be an exciting, at times stressful but ultimately a hugely important year. Finally, as we work towards the exams in the summer together, there will be lots of support through extra-curricular sessions, mock exams and after school revision. After all the hard work we can celebrate success at Prom.

The Year 11 Achievement Leader is Mr Wake and can be contacted at awake@fgs.derbyshire.sch.uk. The Year 11 Achievement Leader Support Assistant is Miss Peacock and can be contacted at LPeacock@fgs.derbyshire.sch.uk.